Give me some CV tips

So, i finally settled with Slim Phatty, which is coming in a week.

Its my first time using CV on any gear, so, before i start scratching my head and learning it,
i would like to have some insights.

Will i be able to make some parameter locks (for example, Slim’s filter),
like with other Elektron gear, that uses midi???

I will be using all A4’s outputs for my Slim, so any tips and stuff i should explore??

2 Likes

This is going to be a tad bit long. Feel free to ask any questions if anything isn’t immediately clear to you. I’ll be out at work for a bit but will be around in a few hours, and I’m sure someone else will come along that can give you good advice as well.

I don’t have an Analog 4 yet (getting one soon), but I have a little bit of experience with CV sequencing (I have a Moog LP and a Voyager Old School). I’m pretty sure you can still Parameter Lock steps on the CV track, although there’s a bit of a catch when it comes to opening up the possibilities of full control. I’ll explain.

One important thing to keep in mind is that the Slim Phatty (or any CV synth) has separate inputs for Gate and Pitch. The other real important thing is don’t send two CVs to the same destination.

Both need to be triggered in order for a proper sequence to play: a Gate CV will trigger the Envelopes and a Pitch CV will (obviously) determine what note is played. This differs from MIDI sequencing, where a “Note On” message will do both.

The Analog 4 has two CV Outs; out of the box, both of these will be used up just in order to do any basic melodic sequencing. If you just send a Gate CV, the Slim will only trigger whatever the last note played was. If you only send a Pitch CV, you’d have to trigger the sound by pressing a key, more or less defeating the purpose of sequencing.