Fors Opal users thread

Opal is a software groovebox and a collection of synths by the company Fors, clearly inspired by Elektron. Indeed created by Ess, who used to work at Elektron.

It’s a Max for Live device that runs inside Ableton Live Suite and Ableton Live Standard with Max for Live.

In depth description and sound examples at https://opal.fors.fm/

The manual: https://stuff.fors.fm/opal-guide.pdf

I recently bought Opal, and I already love it. There doesn’t seem to be a proper Opal users thread here, so consider this it.

I’m just a beginner with Opal, so I’m starting this thread to learn from more experienced users.

Here is a general thread about Ess and Fors:

Tip: Opal and Fors’ other devices are 30% off until June 9!

29 Likes

I also just bought it in the sale, I am hoping it will end up on P3 Standalone at some point. It’s pretty cool, amazing what can be done with MAX now-a-days!

4 Likes

Just grabbed in the sale too. I think I’ve got most Fors devices now

1 Like

I might add that any tutorial videos would be most welcome. Preferably short and focused on specific features.

Like this one:

7 Likes

Narration sounds like CGI Luke Skywalker… nice :+1:

Also, finally picked it up… that price is absolutely ridiculous for what it offers.

4 Likes

Sort of a less intimidating “Hector”!

2 Likes

Dang glad I waited to buy didn’t see the discount until this thread.

I’m hoping Opal helps with my remorse for selling my MD and not getting a Rytm :upside_down_face:

Does anyone have Chiral? Not sure if I just like the idea of it but seems like it’d go well with my new osmose.

3 Likes

Yes, it’s an amazing synth. Can only recommend it! Haven’t used the MPE functions with an MPE controller though.

1 Like

I could not for the life of me get opal to work with my keyboard or external gear. Not exactly new to live, i was stumped. Is everyone using this thing with a mouse? cheers