Does anyone else here make reggae/dub/dancehall with Elektron gear?

I don’t mean dubstep, or dub techno, or derivatives thereof - no offense. I like some of that stuff too, but I keep getting feedback from people who are surprised that I use Elektron gear for this stuff. Some examples:

Tribute to Robbie Shakespeare, 1953 - 2021, who passed away recently:

How Sweet It Is (Tyrone Evans):

Machinedrum X.04 dub, showing off the new tonal mode with polyphony:

Tropic Island (Jackie Mittoo):

Throw Mi Corn (Larry Marshall):

Curious to hear more like this from anyone else!

32 Likes

Nice to hear something different out of the Elektrons. Get a spring reverb asap!

3 Likes

Thanks! I have 5+ currently, and make my own:

10 Likes

I tried doing a dub of the Pixies’ “Monkey Gone to Heaven” on my DT before I sold it. I believe I may have done some tweaking in my DAW. But yea, defo used some Elektrons to do some actual Dub before. Surely most of those files are lost now, I’m not good at archiving unfinished/unsatisfying work of my own lol

I did some dub-inspired stuff on the Digitakt a long time ago. Probably will do some more on the new SP-404mkii that just showed up, hopefully with live instruments.

6 Likes

I dig the tanks (and your setup). I currently only have an old Fender one (90s reissue). This is my second Fender. One of the few pieces of gear I’ve bought back after selling it. Wish I kept my original as it was in a bit better shape. I could have bought a black tolex one from the 60s and a Space Echo for good prices here in Japan about 10-15 years ago, but the prices have gone up quite a bit and you don’t see them around much in the shops anymore, unfortunately.

There are some pretty crazy sound systems here in Tokyo as well. Unfortunately, the guy with one of the best in the area (Small Axe) passed away a few years back. I’m hoping to be able to hit more reggae/sound system events in Japan after the pandemic. One of my goals, lol.

1 Like