DIY audio upgrade to OT

I just took care of that myself and swapped the opamps for inputs and outputs on my OT for some quality OPA opamps. That’s really where it was lacking, the DAC itself is a pretty decent Cirrus Logic chip. To my ear it makes quite a difference, and I bet upgrading the opamps is exactly what they did on the DT too.

21 Likes

Hi @alfred,

Thanks for letting me split this out as a separate topic. I’m very interested in what you did. Could you share any more details with us?

5 Likes

I would love to know the exact specification of the op-amps you used and any challenges / considerations to note before doing the same :smiley:

need to get my first step key and main encoder replaced on my OT. might let me local synth techs deal with it if they can do the op-amp upgrade as well.

cheers for breaking this post out into its own thread @PeterHanes

4 Likes

Ok, first I have to say I am not a professional in the field, I’m a self taught DIY person. Do this at your own risk.

The opamps I used are type OPA1644. They are among the cream of the crop for audio. They are the same SO-14 package as the original opamps in the OT. The OPA1644 costs around 6,50€ a piece and you’ll need 2 of them to have inputs and outputs covered. The OT has 3 in total but one of them is only for the headphones.

The original opamps are all LM837. They are around 1,50€ and they have BJT input stages as opposed to the OPA1644 which has a FET input stage. I don’t know the details about the circuitry, since the OT is not open source. Since it is a simple audio amplification stage I don’t think it requires the opamp to have a BJT input stage. It is hard to tell without the specifics of the circuit but I gave it a try and it worked out perfectly well.