Digitone or Syntakt for a beginner

Hello, I need help to choose between Digitone or Syntakt, I was even embarrassed to open such a stupid topic because I know this topic is already worn all over the internet but I can’t decide between Digitone and Syntakt.

It will be my first Elektron box and I have no intention of expanding it with another Elektron box, so only one and exclusively as a standalone. I also want to mention that I don’t have any synthesizer or drum machine, just a few midi controllers and a DAW.

I want Digitone because I like everything about FM sound, although I have no knowledge of FM synthesis, I like polyphony, arp, chorus, but it only has 4 tracks and I think I will struggle a lot with parameters/sound locks, but I want to learn to work with FM.

On the other hand, Syntakt offers 12 tracks (and more than enough), ready-made “machines” for drums, etc., I won’t bother with programming, for example, the kick (just adjust it as desired). Now, Syntakt is strong in the drum area but when it comes to melodies it seems very raw and flat to me (I don’t know how to describe it but I think you understand me), it can’t be as deep, beautiful and warm as Digitone.

I’ve been deciding for 2 months, watched almost everything on YouTube about those two boxes and still haven’t decided whether to buy Digitone or Syntakt. Also on the Elektron web, the Digitone demo samples sound much better to me than the Syntakt demo samples. I like techno, ambient, experimental, etc.

Should I buy Digitone and enjoy everything it offers but struggle with 4 tracks and take a lot of time and effort to learn to work with FM synthesis or should I buy Syntakt and enjoy ready-made machines and 12 tracks but without a wonderful melody and the polyphony offered by Digitone.

Thanks in advance for any information that would help me finally decide.

ps: apologies for the bad English.

1 Like

I have owned a Digitone and now own a Syntakt. Though, unlike you, I do have other synths.