Digitakt over MPC advice

Hey guys need some advice,

Currently talking myself out of buying an MPC 2500 (pristine) for $900 cdn ($670 US), instead I’m thinking of putting that money towards a digitakt. I would want to be making hip hop and electronic music (on DT). I feel a better option in 2020 would be using beat maker 3 on iPad for my hip hop tracks and learning elektron workflow through either the digitakt or digitone, $900 just feels like too much for such an old machine that I could yield the same if not better results with a software.

However, I have an itch to grab a piece of hardware to tinker with samples and loops so I was thinking of learning the DT and maybe DN before I throw myself at something like the Octatrack (which I love but recognize the huge learning curve). Im new to hardware so I was wondering if I would even notice some of the limitations of the DT such as mono sampling and no time stretch/pitch controls. Also could someone explain the “no song mode”, as well as if and how I’d be able to pair the DT and iPad together? Also could I connect the DT to FL studio if needed? One more thing would I be able to pitch and time stretch pre chopped samples in fl studio and then export them to the digitakt? wouldn’t this bypass the limitations?

Love the idea of an elektron setup but wondering if I will miss out making hip hop on the MPC. anyways thanks for your help, this forum is awesome.

Why wouldn’t you be able to make a Hip Hop beat on the Digitakt?

I feel like people are creating unnecessary islands in the community. Designating instruments and machines to a single genre.

I mean the MPC is not strictly for Hip Hop either. Plenty of people making EDM and other style music on it. Just that it’s popular in the Hip Hop scene due to it’s longtime history.

Just take a look at the new MPC One and all the different kind of music people make with it.