Digitakt For Live Use

Hey guys,

Small disclaimer, ive only got my phone to post atm. So excuse any poor spelling etc.

I was wondering how you would approach creating a liveset with the dt.

Ive got some elektron experience but have never created a live set of the sorts. Basically id like some tips and tricks, do’s and donts as there is obviously a lot of info here.

Few things I’ve settled on:

• 60 minutes of material
  • No laptop, its a limitation thing. And I’d like the set to be less polished as my studio work.
  • Start with only the DT and a LCXL.
  • Ill sort out a nice system for the sound banks, for examples kicks in bank B, hats bank C, and so forth
  • Get the live setup away from the studio and in another part of the house for more focus on either studio writing or performance writing.
  • After a while bring in a small mixer with fx and additional synths ( will figure out what additional elements i need as i go)

Also, im still learning the DT, though it feels very natural as ive used the rytm for almost 2 years. I figured I could start working on the liveset and further learn it more as I go.

So few questions, how to start!? I figured id conceptualise the performance a bit and break it into chunks: intro, main1 main2, outro. But other than that im not sure how to start sketching and at the same time keep it the material contained. Also im not sure how many patterns to use for one track and keep the flow going.

So yeah at this point all tips and findings are welcome. I guess i just need some help to jumpstart ideas and a base to work from.

Cheers:)

4 Likes

Excellent topic! I’ve already used DT in live performance once, and in several private, live group sessions. My work is currently all improv., with two other musicians (both synth / digital).

The set up I use is this:

• Digitakt, sync’d from Ableton over USB (never a crash), audio to Ableton via my sound interface