Digitakt + Digitone Or OctaTrack?

Hi all Elektronauts.

Since a month I am a happy owner of a Digitakt.
I really like the digitakt for its immediacy, workflow and audio quality.
But as most Digitakt (or digitone) owners, there always comes a moment where you think " Should I have saved up for the Octatrack instead ?)

Situation: I am a Trap EDM producer and I start to discover that 8 tracks is somewhat limited for Trap Music. I need at least 12 tracks to cover all the different kicks, snares and effects and samples and melodies. So the most logical step is to buy another Digitone so I have 12 tracks in total (Or another digitakt, so I have 16 tracks)

However, I want to peform live with my digitakt with some rappers and singers. And since there is no Song / Scene mode on the digitakt/digitone., I wonder how difficult it would be to activatie patterns on the fly in a live perfomance with a digitakt/digitone combination. In this regards, it would be far more logicall to acquire the Octatrack. But then I am stuck again with 8 tracks.
(an Octatrack with 16 record tracks would be awesome !!)

what can I do best ?

thanks in advance !

1 Like

The octatrack is honestly quite different from the digitakt. Go for the octatrack if you want to do any live resampling, FX processing, crazy modulation, etc. It’s a lot of fun if you go down the rabbit hole.

If you plan to use it just like a digitakt but with an added arranger you’ll quickly discover the DT is way more streamlined for straight forward sample playback.

Oh, if you hook up the DT to a DN or second DT (or any other elektron) with midi you can make one send program changes to the other. Changing patterns on one changes patterns on the other.

3 Likes