Digitakt addition

Hi there, sorry for this new thread, but I think my question is slightly different than the other “what are the best addition…” questions.

First off: I’m really new to the whole electronic music making world. I have been playing drums (and a bit of guitar) for decades though. So I’m really a drum/rythm based musician.

I just purchased my first electronic music production piece of hardware; the Digitakt. Am playing with it for a couple of weeks now and am really loving it. But now I think it’s time to look for some expansion.

I’d like to add some melody (chords and stuff) to my drum beats and am looking for a solid addition to the Digitakt.

Off course I have checked out the Digitone, but I often see it refered to as a device for creating drum sounds… But isn’t that what the Digitakt is all about? I know the Digitone is an FM synthesizer. But, as you can tell, I am not all familiair with FM synthesis. I am more than willing to learn this FM synthesis stuff, if that is what it takes. But are the Digitone and Digitakt really complementary to each other?

So my current setup is a Digitakt and a Novation Impulse 25 midi keyboard. What would be a nice addition to this?

Music styles that inspired me to go electronic: Daft Punk, Justice, Beastie Boys…

Try a Volca Keys or something. You know, just for testing melody & chord things out – they‘re not expensive and you can get quite a bit of mileage out of them.

The Volcas are of course not such deep-dive sound design devices, more bread & butter, I guess. But very fun bread & butter haha

2 Likes

Absolutely.
I wouldnt worry about the drum synth comments, pretty much any synth is good for making drum sounds. You dont have to.

Since you have the midi keyboard, you’ll love the digitone, the velocity and after touch mod sections are crazy.

And since you already have the Digtakt, you already know the digitone sequencer and the Elektron way. Digitone is killer, I love mine. Get one.

8 Likes