Cuckoo's Octatrack Tutorial #2 - sampling

Hello, I made a new Octatrack tutorial #2 yesterday, focusing on easy sampling. It’s mean for total beginners with very little, or no prior experience of Elektron devices. I just want people to switch it on and be able to get going, and get a quick understanding of some very basic things from day one.

1 Like

Thank you so much for this, Cuckoo. I’ll be watching as soon as I get home tonight.
For my sins I have mostly been sequencing external Midi with my Octatrack and so far have never really got stuck in to sampling. But this will change that.
Love your vids, keep it up!

1 Like

Hey Cuckoo, thank you dear for this tutorial ! :+1:
There is always something to grab in this even for a long-time user… :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:
Plus you really take your time.

One thing though (and I left the same comment on YT) : p. 57 of the manual states that “The DIR parameters don’t affect the volume of incoming audio when sampling. Even if they are set to 0 sampling is therefore possible. AB/CD DIR are however affected by AB/CD GAIN settings.”
So what you say on 4:24 is wrong ! (http://youtu.be/WJT_JoWO2tU?t=4m24s)
=> DIR is for direct volume, and can be used for monitoring your external sources.
But you can sample quiet sources, DIR parameter has no effect on recording volume AFAIK.
I usually set DIR to zero, so I can confirm it works like this, but I don’t do manual sampling a lot…

It might be a good thing to add a caption that correct it :wink:

… Or to correct me if I’m saying something wrong :zonked:

1 Like

Thanks for posting this! I don’t consider myself an Octatrack noob but I picked up a couple shortcuts from watching your workflow that I either never learned or forgot :slight_smile:

1 Like

This is more or less exactly what I was trying to say man. I completely agree. Perhaps I made it confusing, he he.