Blackbox or Digitakt? Where to go "next"?

Hello all,

I’m cross-posting this to the 1010music forum; given that this is a digitakt-centric crowd, I figured cross-posting would balance out the bias.

I am new to synthesis, and new to beat making… having spent a few days and late nights here and there sitting in ableton messing around. I’ve since decided that I will focus on beat making as a hobby and want to dive right in with the right gear that will make flow easier.

tl;dr:

• just starting out seriously user manual diving.
  • have a Korg ES-1 mkii, an arturia microfreak, a mini kp-1, a mini kaossilator 1, a mini kaossilator 2s, a worlde panda200 controller, and a (non-midi) mixing board.
  • already sick of ES-1’s signal flow limitations (and mind you I don’t really know what I’m doing).
  • want a sampler that will allow me to beat make, as well as sample stuff from my kaossilator(s), and microfreak, layer and organize it.
  • want to stay DAWless for now, while I’m learning the basics, then will DAW myself later.

tl;
I bought a Korg ES-1 mkii a while back and didn’t spend due time on it until recently, having gone through the manual… I already feel that I’m pretty constricted with various features and flow. Ijust purchased a dollar-store midi controller (the worlde panda200), which support NRPN and should allow me more specific control over the ES-1… but certain things, like the signal flow (into effects for instance), lack of ADSR, lack of a proper hi and low pass filter (I feel like the part filter is bandpass), just generally annoy me (like “C’MON MAN!”).

Recently, I purchased a microfreak and am very happy with it’s versatility and I know it’s weird, but I believe it will teach me a lot about synthesis.

Basically, I imagine my workflow to be as follows:

1. toss together a phrase on the microfreak.
  2. throw together a beat on the kaossilator and/or the sampler.
  3. sample at least one of the two.