Bitwig or Studio One?

I know this is a very personal question, but I’d like to read some of your opinions and considerations in order to decide which DAW to buy.

I’ve narrowed the choice to these two DAWs after trying several demo versions. These are the two where I felt more comfortable and find more intuitive.

I want to take advantage of these days sales and buy a DAW license once and for all, and avoid jumping from demo to demo.

As a music student I can get EDU licenses, and the price is something to consider too, as it can very different from choice to choice.

The options are:

• Studio One 5 Artist (only 50€, enough to record and mix)
  • Studio One 5 Professional (203€)
  • Bitwig Studio 16-Track (don’t like the 16 tracks limitation, but it’s way less expensive than the whole version, 79€)
  • Bitwig Studio (+1 point for working with linux, 200€ EDU version with current discount)

So far, I’ve mostly been using hardware and vocals, and I’ve been using the DAW to record, edit, add effects, and mix. But that’s because I’ve only used demo versions and haven’t got the time to study the DAW instruments and advanced features.

So, which of these DAWs would you recommend me, and why?

I have no experience with Studio One, but here is my Bitwig sales pitch:

Bitwig is a DAW that currently has a few unique features that set it apart from the competition. The main one is probably the Grid. It’s a virtual modular environment in which you can create pretty much any synth or effect setup. There are a few competitors, but the Grid is by far the easiest to use. In all honesty with the Grid you can probably replace any VST synth you may use.