Best gear for ‘jamming from scratch’

Hi all,

I know there has been a fair few threads on the best gear for improvisation which is close to what I am after, but I’m stuck in a GAS cycle and still looking for thoughts on my specific usage needs - as outlined below.

I work from home and have my ‘synth desk’ set up next to my ‘working desk’ so that I can turn stuff on during the day and spend regular 10/15 min breaks jamming away.

I like to start from a blank pattern every time and just improvise on the fly in whatever direction I fancy. I’m a guitarist as well and do a similar thing with guitars in my room, just pick them up play, no set agenda and not playing ‘songs’ just jamming and seeing where it takes me. Once I stop I turn it all off, never saving the pattern etc, and start again an hour later from nothing…

In short I want advice on the best gear for turning on fast and creating interesting/varied stuff from scratch quickly, very much in a live looping kind of workflow. I guess I’m using it almost as meditation throughout the day if that makes sense.

TLDR

The synths/drum maschines/samplers I currently have are as follows:

TR8S - this works well for this - I just have a kit set up and the workflow is pretty good, the faders are great - but it’s sometimes a little ‘limited’. Maybe limited isn’t fair, as a drum
Machine I am pretty happy with it-which leaves me with the ‘melodic side’

Akai force - again works well on some levels for this, I just have a template set up that I like. But there are a few issues, I always feel like I am underutilising it as I only use about 5% of its features. Also it’s pretty slow on its load time etc. I’ve previously had a MPC live 2 and the Maschine plus - all 3 have pluses and minus points but all feel roughly the same in terms of how I use them (setting up a template with a few sounds, samples, midi) and live looping a pattern.