Best Elektron devices combo to get started with for me?

Hi everyone, new user here / potential Elektron fanboy :stuck_out_tongue: . I need some specific advice from Elektron veterans, so I decided to ask here.

I am mainly a guitarist, and an Ableton user. I also have a Launchkey and a Push2. What I usually do is jam on guitar, play some synth keys, combine them with the help of the Push2 in Ableton and just tinker around with the sounds, etc. So, mainly Push2 is a hands-on manager of clips, arranger and such, I never really used its instrumental capabilities because I like the actual instruments more.

So that being said, I was looking at the Elektron stuff because it’s reasonably priced and attractive and interesting, and am a bit confused, I have a few questions (I hope they make sense):

1. Where does the Elektron line sit actually - as a replacement for the DAW, or for jamming ideas which you then bring inside the DAW to finish songs?

2. Let’s talk Digitakt for example - since I use mainly the guitar and synth keys, where would this workflow benefit from a Digitakt - is there something specific that the Digitakt can do, which you can’t achieve otherwise? I mean it’s also a sampler, but I can also sample in Push2 - but is Digitakt a more fun sampler, more complex, more capable, or something - what are its advantages? I sense its a super fun device but I am having trouble understanding where would it sit in my workflow.

3. What other Elektron devices would you recommend for my use case? I can spend for , say 2 Elektron devices but I don’t want to buy just for the sake of buying gear. I need to understand the usefulness first.

4. lastly, a curiosity question - what other external hardware do you use together with your Elektron gear? Just to feed more ideas.

Thank you very much for your patience for reading this.
Best regards ,

1 Like