Arpeggiator

Hi.

Obligatory I’m new to elektron boxes/this forum opener.

Only had the A4 a couple of weeks, and just beginning to scratch the surface. On the whole it’s pretty intuitive and I’m finding most things straightforward enough.

The one thing I am scratching my head over, is the arp. It doesn’t appear to have a Latch function, which when scouring the web, manual and this forum, seems to be confirmed.

However this chap appears to have a latched Arp on this sequence https://youtu.be/ztROUnzv4yA

I’d like to press a few keys and the Arp runs, when I take my fingers off.

Also struggling to work out how to record the Arp into the sequencer…

I’m sure it’s obvious or is named differently or something simple like that, so if you could point me in the direction of a good resource for the Arp on the a4 I’d really appreciate it.

Thanks to all

:slight_smile:

Welcome :thup:

The ARP’s part of the Track
To have it latch
You need to Turn on the Arp mode you want
Assign(or lock) a Len of Inf on the Track Note Page

If you lay down one inf len trig, then press(hold) it and then play the minikeys/keys it will then play once you release your hand and play the track

You can easily vary the (up to) 3 other notes or root note on the Note Page And ARP Page

1 Like

if you want it to happen more intuitively without using the Track, you’d need an external keyboard with a sustain pedal to latch the incoming MIDI notes

BTW - the parameters of the ARP page which cannot be locked manually are therefore not recordable or changeable (except manually, so only one state possible unlike e.g. OT)

1 Like

Hey thanks for the answer. Ok that makes a bit more sense. Having it as an inf would effectively Latch it, although it would actually be a Latch.

And a sustain pedal would act as a Latch if I wanted to change the Arp while playing.

Cool thanks. That’ll give me something new to learn tonight. Cheers.

1 Like

And save yourself a good few quid as well