Arcade game sounds

I enjoy the retro arcade computer game sounds. I have been exploring the Bits machine and really love it.
I want to create those fast stepped pitch modulations that is common in these types of sound. I am looking for a little advice as I am fairly new in sound designing when it comes to these chip tune sounds.

So far I have successfully used the LFO with square shape to mod the pitch of the machine and it sounds cool. But I can not really tune it to exact pitches or intervals etc.

Is it possible to somehow use the sequencer as a mod source for pitch? This way I could create those pseudo chord sounds. I don’t want the sequence to trigger notes, rather modulate the pitch parameter when I hold a note.

Any other tips for these types of sounds would be appreciated, I would love to hear ideas, thanks. :joystick:

1 Like

This should be achievable with yellow/lock/trigless trigs. Hold down func and enter a trig on the sequencer, this creates a trig that can be used to change parameters without retriggering the note. Just make sure the initial note is long enough for the entire sequence.

4 Likes

Wow, this is great news. I will try this tomorrow, thanks for the help :pray:

Unfortunately, it seems that this will not work as I had hoped. 2 things are stopping me.

1. The sequencer will only modulate when it playing. I was hoping I could use it like a modulator source and have it modulate pitch when I press a note even when playback is not enabled.
  2. It seems the fastest the sequencer can run is 1/32 notes. To get the arcade sounds it needs to run at 1/64, 1/128 and 1/256 typically. So it is just not fast enough.

I am however getting good results with the LFOs, I just wish I could translate the pitch mod depth to some meaningful value like octaves and semitones etc. If I recall did someone make a conversion chart for this? If anyone knows please tell me where I could find this info.
Thanks