Analog Four MKII backup

Hello everyone,
I’m new to Elektron, I just got an Analog Four MKII. So far, I think it’s pretty incredible. I’m learning the workflow and it’s a little different, but I like everything so far and it’s fun to learn something new.

One question I did have is about backing up sound banks and Overbridge. It looks like OB doesn’t really function like a true librarian, ala Novation Components or something like that. Kind of a bummer, but ok.
So, how do you guys back up your sound banks? I bought a couple of the commercial sound packs to help me learn the device a little and eventually I’m going to want to do a backup of my sound banks. I like to have a baseline to work from.
The manual isn’t very detailed on this process. But it looks like you can send SYSEX from the sound manager. The Elektron transfer dealie worked for sending sysex to the A4, but doesn’t seem to want to receive. So what is everyone using for a sysex editor/capture to import them? I haven’t used sysex in YEARS, this seems a little archaic to me.

Thank you!

1 Like

First, you should be able to use C6 or sysex librarian.
Secondly, a new version of Transfer is coming son that does this all.

4 Likes

Thanks, I used sysex librarian .
But holy cow, the process of selecting each patch individually, sysex…etc…

Yeah, some kind of better librarian feature would be more than welcome here

In case you didn’t see it, you can send ALL SOUNDS in the SYSEX SEND menu, or any selected sounds in the SOUND MANAGER.

2 Likes

I did see that, but I didn’t see a way to export the individual sound banks.
Did I miss it somewhere? I guess I assumed all sounds meant every sound on the device since there wouldn’t really be a way for a sysex message to break them up.

I used the sound manager, but in order to select a whole bank, I had to arrow down checking every single sound in the bank, then do the transfer.
It just took way longer than it should.