Alternative to K702 headphones for techno / electronic music?

I’ve been using AKG K702 for about 7 years but aside from the comfort and wide soundstage, the bass is so weak. I have Sonarworks 3 which has a profile for the K702 but even with that my mixes don’t translate well. I’m just very frustrated with these cans and ready to try something else. Some people swear by the Sennheiser HD-650. Some people find them too laid back and not ideal for production or mixing. Fyi, I only like open or semi-open back cans. Comfort is important as I use headphones 80% of the time when working on music. Thanks.

I’ve said it before but if you want a flat frequency response, Neumann headphones are where it’s at.

My father has the 650s, I don’t rate them at all. Actually I thought they were terrible, and that’s from a Sennheiser fan.

1 Like

Thanks! Is there a particular model you recommend that won’t force me to sell my Octatrack?

There’s only 1 model, the NDH 20. The price is extremely good for what you get, very well made and I don’t know of another pair of headphones as good for music production.

Perhaps there are in the super high end but I don’t know what goes on over 1000 £/$/€

FYI I make techno too

1 Like

Ok thanks. I’d have to sell my AKG K702 (too little bass) and Denon D600 (too much bass) and pay an extra $200 for these… I may do it as I’d rather have just one pair of excellent canst than having to cross reference on 2-3 ok ones.

Shure SRH1840. https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/shure-srh1840

3 Likes

Interesting! These seem to tick a lot of boxes for me as a replacement for my broken DT770 (closed back, accurate, good bass, comfortable). How easy are they to drive? I don’t want to use a headphone amp and will sometimes want to connect them directly to my iPad or an Elektron box with nothing else

I’ve used The 650’s for years. I like them. I make house and techno.

I use can opener with sonarworks