About Slicing Samples : No Slice Mode in DT? Should I trade DT for a OT?

Hi!
Sorry if it’s a noob question. I’ve been making hiphop beats on ableton an a controller for around three years now. I recently ordered the digitakt because I was drawn by the elektron workflow and of course, Jonwayne’s beat show on twitch(Lol Elektron should really SPONSOR him).
The question is, it’s seems that there is no way to slice the samples(such as a vinyl drum loop) to different tracks,except chopping them sample by sample and assign them to different tracks. And it’s sort of a huge deal to quickly get in the play and sequence stage to me. Are there any workarounds that don’t involve preparing samples in a DAW, or should I trade for a OT?
Thanks for the help guys!

DT doesn’t do slicing. Of course you can set sample start position and length per track and even modulate and parameter lock these to achieve a similar effect. They won’t choke each other, though.

1 Like

If you keep everything on a single audio track on the DT and parameter lock sample start and length for each “slice” of the loop in the sequencer the different parts will choke.

3 Likes

You’re right. I was referring to assigning different parts of a sample to different pads. Doing it on one track with locking start/length could get tedious quickly compared to proper slicing the OT way.

2 Likes
  1. What are the values, if you want to change start points ? 000.00, 000.01, 000.02…?
  2. Possible to have whole values ? 000.00, 001.00, 002.00, etc…
  3. If the value is 120.00, there’s no sound ?
  4. Special behaviour if you press the button or Function ?

128 values would have been easier for 64 “slices”.
I asked those question twice. No awsers. :unamused:

1 Like

I think now the way to go is using p-locks on the same track making it work as a choke group. But seems like in this way of working, the drums(in my case) aren’t really playable? Guess I’ll have to test out when I get my DT.