A4 vs AR as standalone groovebox

Hey dudes, selling a lot of my studio off since I’ll be traveling. I’m going to be buying a single Elektron box to bring with me as a groovebox mostly for fun jams.

I have some experience with the digitakt and OT so I am fairly familiar with the sequencing and overall potential of these boxes.

Rytm seems like it would lend itself better as a standalone groovebox but the A4 engine appeals more to me. I’m no stranger to making percussive sounds with a standard synth engine and to be honest, that limitation excites me a bit. (https://soundcloud.com/pkmood/grassy this entire track incl drums is with a DSI rev2 )

The one huge advantage I see for the Rytm in my situation is sampling. I’d enjoy making some lofi hiphop / dj shadow kind of stuff and even though the sampling engine seems a little lighter than the DT’s, it should be more than enough for some hiphop vibes.

I’m wondering how good the Rytm is at non-drum sounds. The Dual VCO seems neat but I’m wondering if there is as much serious potential for pads and atmospheric kinds of sounds as the A4 and just how limited it feels for non drum based sound design compared to A4.

E: Alternatively, I just had the idea of syncing the A4 to some other small sampler, like one of the Pocket operators. Going to look into this a bit further but I’d totally give up one of the four voices if I could at the least trigger a sample through the A4 engine. Thoughts here?

1 Like

The AR is a desert island synth for me. It can do pads, sure! Both with synth engines, but obviously also with samples loaded in it. I have a lot of chord samples in mine. I actually prefer the samples played back in ar over both Digitakt and Octatrack, something about the effects and filters, and I don’t know, it just sounds nice and dusty.