Alternative forum?

I don’t feel at home on this forum anymore and it’s not the first time I have to take a step back, because I am ruining other user’s topics by being a troll or smartass. Not solving problems or motivating others, but judging and spewing negativity around is not who I am in the real world, so why be it here?

I can’t really leave, because I feel as an artist I need an online community of some sort to learn from and reflect.

My personal issues with this forum and many other brand specific fora is that I think they are great for the brand itself, it provides them with low cost advertising, a volunteer helpdesk and thousands of volunteering representatives! More power to them, eh.

Yet, I personally prefer listening to music, I am while browsing streaming your soundclouds and bandcamps, it’s inspiring and fun! I like sharing and having my own creative output critiqued by like minded souls and I enjoy shooting the shit on everyday experiences, related or not to the gear used.

Maybe the internet changed so much, I simply don’t fit anywhere anymore… (I am 37 years old, so maybe it’s the midlife crisis calling :grimacing:) I tried finding places in the real world to interact, but people were checking their phones whilst I tried talking to them. I recently joined reddit, it’s too big for me, the karma system is a terrible fascist way of judging people and it seems to turn me into a grumpy old troll like a lot of other places online. The c74 forum is useful to my work as a resource, but lacks a social element and doesn’t do enough music sharing.

Are there forums left where you can share thoughts, art/music and philosophize on it? Someplace less saturated and preferably small?

Am I getting too old for this shit?

EDIT: I was trolling about being 22, I am 37, started in bands in 1995, electronic music in 1997! Sorry for trolling and so far thanks for the comments!

2 Likes

You could try Lines: https://llllllll.co/

4 Likes