Writing better melodies and harmonies (on Elektron machines)

Hi everybody!

Lately I’m getting back into more melodic music (some would even say cheesy) and I am starting to feel the need to make more of it myself. I have some knowledge of theory from my guitar/bass years, but nothing crazy and I sometimes feel it is more limiting than anything when I feel lost in the same boring scales and patterns. Writing beautiful melodies and interesting chord progressions is still a big mystery to me.

So I thought that we could use this place to share our knowledge on the subject, with the added layer of using the Elektron sequencer. What are your techniques, strategies or tips to analyse existing melodies and write exciting new ones? Do you have interesting sources to check out to learn more about this? What is your method for coming with some using the Elektron machines? Is it all instinct, method or luck? Are you more into generative techniques or do you write everything yourself?

I hope we can share knowledge and ideas, learn together and inspire each other to get more satisfying results from these machines we love!

PS: not sure if there should be other subjects on writing rhythms, sound design or if we should be crossing everything in a mega “make better music” topic, but I think it’s better to have more specific discussions

7 Likes

Here are a few examples of the music I’m talking about:

7 Likes

If you have iOS I recommend the Pensato app.

It’s by the Once Upon A Synth youtuber

1 Like

If you’re more comfortable on guitar/bass, have you tried writing melodies on one of them and then converting them to a synth? If you’re looking for generative stuff to get you going, try plugins like Cthulhu or Captain Chords/Melody, or hardware like NDLR. Or else mess around with arps if you have them (not sure which Elektrons you have), record the results in real time as you make adjustments and keep only the very best bits.

1 Like