Wood sounds tutorial (with ratio offsets)

Before the ratio offsets i had a pretty hard time trying to get the wood sounds in this tutorial right. But now the results are pretty good. Thanks for this awesome upgrade!! This tutorial is great for intermediate FM techniques btw.

17 Likes

Are you able to interpret the Cxratio, DxRatio, and Detune in terms of Digitone parameters?

1 Like

Use DxRatio = whole number is syn 1 ratio, decimal is ratio offset. Match up the algorithm visually. Most of the wood ones use DN alg 2.

I had fun trying to match sounds on this one. Might try some of the others. Not sure I would use any of the sounds in my own music, but quite a fun excercise to get used to programming the Digitone, and learning what the parameters do. I only got a digitone a week ago, so I’m a complete beginner with it. Love it so far, incredible machine!

4 Likes

some sounds are really great! I have to test these on my DN!
Thank you a lot for sharing @muddeshewrote !

I went through the whole series last night. Wood, Air, Metal. It seems like some of the sounds are tricky to replicate since the Digitone does not have the required algorithm. I omitted those ones from my attempts.
Also on some of the patches, the Ratios given are up in the 20s, but Digitone Ratios only go up to 16. No idea what the scaling is so yeah, expect differences!

However, what I will say, is after following through the three videos, I know have a much better feel for the Digitone, even though I am barely scraping the surface of what it can do. Why didnt I get one of these things earlier?! They are amazing! I also plugged a midi keyboard into it the other day and oh my god the modulation capabilities are off the hook, pretty much everything has four destinations, mod wheel, pitch wheel, velocity, after touch, Yikes! I look forward to many years of creating with it :slight_smile:

3 Likes

from the metalic tutorial/video explanation: