Why am I keep losing data on my Syntakt?

I am new to the world of Elektron machines so it might be my fold, but I am keep losing data on my Syntakt. So far I had two scenarios.

1. I entirely cleared a pattern via Pattern > Clear, made changes to the pattern, saved via [FUNC] + [Save Proj] multiple times, rebooted my Syntakt and the pattern in again in the exact same state as before clearing. All my changes to the pattern are lost.

2. I turned on my Syntakt, played a pattern (1) which sounded how it sounded last time, switched to a different pattern (2), made some changed, saved via [FUNC] + [Save Proj] multiple times, switched back to the previous pattern (1) and suddenly all the pages are reset to default SYN, FLTR, AMP, LFO, Mixer, etc. The sequences of all the track all still intact though.

Has anyone had similar experiences? I am using my Syntakt ‘wrong’? Any tips on how to avoid such issues? Am I unintentionally making any global changes which affect other patterns?

I am on the current firmware 1.01.

I lost some data as well. Only happened once so far. Made changes to a pattern, didn’t save or anything. Turned it off, and later turned it on again, and it at reverted back to a previous state, before my changes.

This is a new project right, not the factory ones? I think the factory project is locked or something.

Also, be sure to “save project as”, or whatever it is the first time you save the project, then the func + proj shortcut save should work fine after that.

Not in front of any gear at the moment, so can’t help much beyond that.

1 Like

The following happened to me on the Digitone. A project or pattern got corrupted. I performed a sysex dump, then reinstalled, from my computer, the contents of the sysex dump. And voila, everything was good again.

Long story short, that made me realize that maybe, just maybe the data is okay but the machine gets confused.

I don’t know if the same scenario applies to the Syntakt, but it might be worth a try.