What synth would you add to a Digitakt?

Hey everyone,

I’m new to this world, and to Digitakt in particular. I’m loving it so far, but I’m thinking of adding a synth to my fledgling setup. (Not trying to run before I can walk; I know the Digitakt has synth-like capabilities with its LFOs etc. - I’m just thinking ahead.)

I’m curious what single synth (to start with) you’d add. I realise the possible answers to this question are many and various, but I’m just after some opinions.

The Digitone looks a smart choice, not only because it seems a wicked device on its own merit but because it would obviously pair well with its Elektron sibling. I’m also looking at the Modal Cobalt/Argon 8, which both sound lovely, and even the slightly whacky, leftfield Sonicware ELZ_1.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts!

What sort of music do you make and what role do you want the synth to play in your setup?

6 Likes

Yea give us a little more information :slight_smile:

What is it you’re wanting to introduce? What kinds of sounds do you like?

The options you mention are all quite different sonically and would have different advantages/weaknesses.

Appreciate if you’re new to this world those might be difficult questions to answer but it’s good to get to those answers before going too deep into the rabbit hole!

1 Like

yea tbh I naturally ended up with digitone as the takt’s partner. it’s just so flexible.

I’ve paired the DigiTakt with a bunch of different synths but always come back to the Tone.

ymmv

2 Likes

In addition to the spot on questions about what sort of music do you like to make, there are some other practical things you might include in your expanded question, like:

• Do you play keys/piano? Do you have a MIDI controller / keyboard already? Or do you prefer to create music with a sequencer like the built-in one on the Digitakt?
  • What are your space constraints? Are you looking for a sound module or a full blown 49/61/71/88-key synth?