what should i buy after the DN?

sooo around 5 months ago i bought my first synth (DN) and i spent countless hours exploring what it can do, but i feel like 4 tracks is pretty limiting and makes it hard to create a full song just with that one device.

I’m relatively new to electronic music and right now i’m mostly into deep house (david august, kollektiv turnstrasse etc.)

i feel like i need something that can allow me to make smoother transitions and basically create full sets

could DN + OT be a proper set up for deep house? i fell in love with the elektron workflow and i feel like it just wouldn’t be that fun to play with a DAW.

i’m a broke teenager so saving up for something like an OT would probably take me a year, on the other hand saving up for a laptop, DAW and a controller would take even longer.

I’d save and decide later. OT is always a good starting point for any setup, but also expensive. I love it.
The Digitone has two inputs which you can sugar with good fx. Maybe there is some iphone beatbox with 909 samples or something to get more stuff into your music without too much cost?

1 Like

Everyone is going to tell you, “Get the OT!!!”

Me, I love love LOVE the Digitone and Digitakt together.

11 Likes

When you say 4 tracks are too few to make a whole track, what is missing from your tracks? Which “gap” would you like to fill?

Or to ask differently, assuming you’d have more tracks available, what sounds/purpose would you give them?

5 Likes

Yes, digitakt and digitone combination is cool!

3 Likes

yeah I’ve been thinking about that too… also its newer than the OT and probably will have more updates coming up

1 Like

Maybe get a Drum Machine, which (surprise) an A4 can be if you want to stick to elektron. With a drum machine you free up tracks from the DN for more synth voices instead of rhythm voices… Or vice versa, think it would be very dynamical setup…

2 Likes