What do I need as a live gigging musician?

Friends at the forum,

I’ve no real experience in playing live, none that counts in the context to which I’m about to ask my question. Consider me an absolute noob, ignorant and naive but with eyes tinkling with expectation and a belief that the world is a good place and war is reserved for the wicked.

Lately, however, I’ve been getting requests to come and play at parties and events, and I’m thinking what the hell. Time to leave the closet.

But I have absolutely no idea what kind of gear I need, if any, beyond my instruments. I know that any club, event or party can have little to no to awesome gear already in place, but for those of you who do this regularly, what’s expected from a gigging musician in terms of bringing their own gear? I got my Octatrack and my Analog Rytm and that’s what I’ll bring. I’ve realised that even though shit sounds great on all the monitors and speakers I’ve played my stuff on, it can still sound awful in a situation I never could’ve predicted. I just have no idea what’s expected from my end to resolve this. For example.

What else is mandatory and what else is left to assumption that I can expect at least this, although quality and shape might vary?

Assume that these gigs are pro to semi pro, there are no vocals involved (sound source is only Octa and ARytm), as in the arranger that books me hosts parties in one form or another on a regular basis. Assume these parties are of (very) shifting quality, but that it’s still in public places like clubs, offices, bars and so on.

Thanks for the advise.

1 Like

Regarding sound: It’s important to do soundcheck on the equipment in the place of the gig before the gig. Walking around in the room in front of the main speakers listening. Setting the levels, eq and so on. Use your time on this.