We should all abandon Spotify

I genuinely think we should all abandon Spotify. I know you won’t and I know lots of you are gonna say but you ‘have’ to be on it nowadays, ‘exposure’ is good and ‘you might get featured on a hot playlist’. But I’m a man of principal and Spotify does next to nothing for most artists out there. So, I’m in the process of moving everything over to Bandcamp ASAP. I’m leaving Spotify et al for good.

Let the debate begin! :slight_smile:

68 Likes

Well my two cents.
Literally every single person that I have spoken to ever, unless they upload their own music to bandcamp says

“Bandcamp? Whats that?”

Where as, literally every same single person has asked me, are you on spotify?

I resisted Streaming sites for years. I despise them. For all the reasons and more. But the fact is, if I want people to hear my music, they wont hear it on bandcamp, because they dont know bandcamp.

Flip side of course is, I’ve been putting my stuff on bandcamp for almost ten years. I love it. Have I made much money? No. Do I care? No, not any more.

So rather than choose one or the other. I now do both. Bandcamp, by my own hand, and all streaming sites like spotify via distrokid. Why do I do this? Well mostly because I’m tired of slack net labels not doing what they said they would do. And also because I live some where very remote, reaching a live audience is extremely rare (covid irrelevant).

Its been the same for decades, if you want to make money, be a DJ, play pleb music anywhere they will book you.

Anyway. Do both. Thats my 2 cents.

35 Likes

I won’t do Spotify

5 Likes

For me all online hosting platforms are only digital archives. I use Routenotes free version when uploading to Spotify. For all I care they could have taken 50% of the revenue.