Trying out Warner Level Music as a distributor

I’m trying the beta for Warners new distribution service, Level.

I’ve been a bandcamp Pro user for some time and find it to be little more than a nice shop front.

Giving this a go to see how it fairs

My label uses distrokid as a distribution service. It’s relatively inexpensive and gets music to pretty much all the major services.

Same here, as an individual artist I can release as much as I want for $20US/year on DistroKid. Bandcamp is it’s own ecosystem.

2 Likes

After 10 minutes of looking into Level, I’m already really against it. Warner is being sneaky and arguably fraudulent in its claims.

For example, the beta says it’s free with no upfront fees. Fine. They also claim this:

Complete ownership
No upfront charges or fees. Keep 100% of your rights, royalties, and earnings.

But in the agreement, they say you keep 100% of your net receipts, less an 8% distribution fee retained by them. Oops! That’s not 100%. They’re burying this distribution fee for your earnings in the agreement and not talking about it in the marketing, which is pretty bad.

Distrokid: $20 per year, you keep 100% of your royalties with no distribution fee

Warner: no upfront fee (in beta - you’ll probably be charged a fee once the beta is over), 8% taken off whatever you earn.

Also, I’m not totally sure how to parse this part, but it sounds like you can’t have the same music on both Bandcamp and Level simultaneously, which kills it for me:

Restrictions on Additional Distribution. You may not license or otherwise make available any Recordings to any Music Platform (whether directly or through a third party) other than under this Agreement, except with respect to countries for which you have notified us, pursuant to Section 6( c ) above, to cease making such Recordings available hereunder.

Summary: