Tips for buying a used MnM

First time Elektron buyer here. I’ve fallen in love with the Monomachine and I’m definitely getting one, but as I haven’t got enough cash to throw at a new machine, I’m looking to buy a used SFX60+ MKII. Since it’s quite a sum to spend on a synth that I have no experience with, I want to know if there are any common flaws/signs of old age to look out for on the used-market. Do some of the buttons and knobs wear easily, are there any other known glitches and faults? Appreciate any answers.

As you’re buying a Mk2 +Drive model, I wouldn’t be too worried. They’re the last iteration, so it should definitely have the rubberized knobs which make use much more enjoyable.

One thing I would look for is if it still has the original box. In my experience, gear that comes with the original packaging is typical better cared for. Not saying you should pass if it doesn’t have the original box (My Mk2+ didn’t, but the price was right.)

If you’re purchasing from someone who is the original owner, ask if they still have the proof of purchase. If the original purchase was less than 3 years ago, and they can pass the proof of purchase on to you, the machine will still be eligible for warranty repairs if needed, even after ownership has been passed on to you.
I’d say it’s worth spending $50-$100 more for a Mk2+ that is still under warranty.

I think there are common ‘rules’ for buying second hand gear, the MnM is no exception. I baught one on Ebay last year and I’m really happy with this decision. These boxes have three years (!) warranty - be sure that they are stable enough to stand this time…

An Mk2+ version is a ‘must have’ option.

just to balance it out

must have box?
and
MK11 only?
plaaeese, :astonished:

I have a MK1, 8+ yrs,

blown fuse in the first month, 1 encoder replacement, 1 led on the pattern steps is dull,
otherwise proven rock solid with extensive use in that time :+1:

not for sale btw

oh and i replaced the knobs about 6 mths in