Thinking of Switching to a Mac

I’ve been using Windows for a long time and I am thinking of switching to one of the new Mac Mini’s with the M2 Pro chip in to replace my aging DAW machine. I really like the form factor and all the specs look really good for the size. I’ve been checking and it looks like most of the software I currently use should be supported.

Has anyone been through the transition recently and what are the pitfalls?

3 Likes

Hi, I work in IT, but my advice is subjective to a degree.

It depends on many things. Answer below questions for yourself:

• Do you use any programs that only support Windows?
  • Have the main things that do work on Mac all been updated to native Apple Silicon support?
  • Even more important: Are there still any programs or pluggins you use that have not yet been updated to 64 bit on Mac?
  • Do you want to play PC games?

I have gradually transitioned to the whole Apple ecosystem for my personal use and am very satisfied with all that I’m getting out of it.

That said, if you require to be connected to some sort of work domain and need to use Microsoft services other than the M365 package, or have to use virtualization of x86 code that is not by Apple, I would not recommend an M series Mac.

1 Like

I’ve worked in IT for a long time as an application and web developer but not used a Mac for about 10 years. I normally use Windows and Linux and happy using a console.

I will still have windows machines for running a few bits of software like FLStudio and Cakewalk to open old projects. For a long time I have been using Ableton Live as my main DAW and I’ve reduced the number of plugins I have and I think most of the main ones are compatible with the M1.