The Piano Thread

There’s a guitar thread and a vinyl thread, so why not a Piano thread?

A place to talk about anything to do with pianos, either upright, grand, prepared, or virtual. Tips, recommendations, cool experimental piano videos, whatever.

Keep it nice! This is for piano lovers.

I will start. I’ve been a guitarist for a long time, and I’m pretty good, but I only ever used keys as a way to enter notes into a sequencer, or trigger samples on the OP-1.

I recently started to learn piano with Pianoteq and an 88-key hammer-action controller, and I’m in love. It’s certainly easier to get started than it was with the guitar, and my synth game has leveled up in just a few weeks.

I can happily spend an afternoon practicing and playing around, which is something I used to do with the guitar years ago.

I especially like how the piano really opens up lots of other keyboard instruments.

Ok, piano lovers. Tell us something!

21 Likes

I had a great little Casio Privia keyboard for ages and finally got a real piano a few years ago and it’s life changing. It’s a Yamaha B2 Silent upright which means you can mute the hammers and have it play through headphones or more importantly through USB midi via some fancy technology. It’s my main midi controller which is a slight disadvantage over keyboards as the keys are piano weighted but it’s lovely.

Losing yourself in piano improvisation is the greatest feeling. As is the real feeling of real strings.

8 Likes

This thread makes me very fondly think of this:

“Tell me a little about this electric piano…”

Which leads me nicely onto one of the favourite instruments I owned. As a well done reward for some exams passes, my Dad bought me an old beat up Wurlie EP200. No legs, no pedal and the output was pretty much gone. But I loved playing that thing (very badly) and really wish I knew more about sampling back then as it had this incredible heavily distorted sound - especially when the vibrato was ramped up.