TD-3 vs ABL3 : Sound difference?

Hi internet friends.

I’m using more and more my computer and learn a bit more to make music on ableton live which is really convenient. I started with Elektrons but I’m not a musician and having some helping scales plugins on ableton is helping me a lot.
I’m still very interested in hardware (I’m really in love with all gear) so The pretty recent td-3 from behringer is making me some signals.
I would like to know if it is an important difference of sound between this analog circuit and tb-303 plugins, as abl3 or the roland one ?
I like the rapidity, CC’s, reliability of Abl3 but let’s just talk about the machine sound.
Maybe some of you guys tried different tb versions ?
I didn’t !
What you think about upgrading to a Behringer td-3 ?
Thank you for your words !

Have fun

Do not worry about sound subtleties, work out what format and user experience you prefer.
If you love mouse and graphics with instant save recall - cool! Dont worry, just have a basic midi controller.
Hardware synths I find take more commitment but the jamming experience is more fulfilling, (I currently use no computer).
The thing about TB303 was 90% the UI imho. The TD is quite cheap though so I would consider both and jam with the hardware offline ie on the couch, then record patterns into software. Hope that helps you.

3 Likes

Abl3 is superb and very convenient as it’s in ableton etc

Make perfect loops
Controllable filter / parameter programming
Reproducible results
Good sequencer, built in or host daw.

And the eco system means you can easily process and add fx , dump into a sampler.

You’ll get great results from either ( I have both )
As mentioned there’s a lot to do with how you program slides nd accents and then twiddle the knobs , but with good controller it’s feel quite similar.

3 Likes

One good thing I understood is that patterns are transferable (if I’m not wrong) so this can be useful !