Talk me out of getting a Nord Electro

So I’m GASsing quite a bit these days, and the Nord Electro Series is to blame.
My current synths: AK, Nord G2 Modular, Moog Minitaur.
I got the latter only recently, same for Strymon BigSky and AH (have yet to drill down to the fine details of each instrument).
I could go in depth about what the Electro brings to the table that would be super useful for my compositions (eg. awesome Pianos and high-end Samples), how I frequently feel the need for such an instrument, but reality is a cold-hearted mistress: like many among you, I get the impression that extra gear tends to stifle creativity, and this purchase may not be an exception - hälp?

If your music will benefit from these capabilities, and the Nord Electro provides good examples, and you don’t need the money for rent or food, then why not buy it?

6 Likes

well, i had an electro 5d for a couple of months. my background is mostly piano and rhodes, whenever i jam with musicians i am on the rhodes sound 85% of the time… the nord sounds great, i love the grand pianos and eps and LOVE some of the upright piano models.

…however…i’m not gigging or jamming with musicians a lot anymore. this instrument doesn’t make much sense to me unless i am taking it places (light and sounds great), …for home/studio use the keys are not comparable to my old trusty yamaha p-120 and the sounds are great but not better than plugin options i have. the rhodes is not as great as neo soul keys on my i-pad, the pianos are not as good as a 5 gb sound font sampler. synth sounds without control for filters.etc have no use for me.

1600 (or so) is a lot of money that can be used more wisely, imo. unless you gig. then this is the best.

1 Like

Talk me out of getting a Nord Electro

Dont buy a Nord Electro! (did that work?)

To me it doesnt make much sense unless you need something really portable for gigs with approximate sounds. Are you gigging?