Synthesis : subtractive, additive, ring modulation, fm... ++?

Hey there…
I’ve been watching some videos from Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith lately… And somehow I’ve getting slowly hooked to the idea of maybe get a few module to experiment other ways to make sounds. But in the same time I know I have way too many instruments already, and am convinced I’m too fragile to get exposed to modules…
So the idea would be using my current gear to experiment and discover different types of synthesis.
I have read Synth Secrets, but I should do it again for sure : now that I have been playing with synths for 2 years, things should get clearer… Still but less a noob :tongue:

In the meantime, I’d like you guys to throw some ideas on the way to achieve different types of synthesis with our gear…

Subtractive synthesis is quite evident, every Elektron machine offers at least one filter per voice.
But from the beginning of this year I’ve been feeling that the good old fight between analog and digital is a mountain hiding a whole lot of other way to make sounds…

Plus there is this idea that by filtering you remove sounds, like cutting the branches of a tree instead of growing new ones…

FM synthesis : the addition of note-following FM-range LFOs on A4 and @Ess’s impressive demonstration and @cuckoo playing in NAMM with the Volca FM got me interested in this type of synthesis.
Before that, I had always been considering FM as cheesy, and always hated the synth sounds from the 80’s…
The following video was the clearest lesson on what FM was and could achieve, and now that I spent a few months experimenting with this I understand how rich this kind of synthesis is.

• A4 can be used to get interesting FM tones, and while writing I figure that you may chain the tracks to achieve quite complex routing of operators, I still have to experiment on this matter.