Suggestions on recording

I’m using an Elektron Digitakt with the Moog family (Mother 32, DFAM, Subharmonicon) and I’ve reached a point where I am ready to start recording. I’m new to recording, but I do have Logic Pro X. I’ve tried using Overbridge for my DT but can’t seem to get sound from any of the 8 channels when I plug in.

Is there a mixer or audio interface you recommend in working with these units & Logic? Recording isn’t my strong point but I really want to record. I don’t want to take shortcuts but I am also am approaching this as a beginner from the recording standpoint.

Any suggestions is more than welcome and appreciated.

Hi,

If you are only looking for recording, you should be able to send the 8 tracks through USB and record on Logic Pro.

I never used Logic Pro but this is basic settings that a DAW like this would have.
I suggest looking into the Logic Pro settings to set the Digitakt as the audio interface and activate all the channels.

Then you can either have all the DT tracks in the same track (not recommended) or record each DT track in a separate track in Logic Proc.

And for the Moog that you are using, you can send the audio output from the Mother 32 to the DT and you should be able to see the signal in a separate track in Logic Pro.

3 Likes

Thank you for this! I honestly just need more time in Logic than anything else. Overbridge really helps with the DT.

If you’re happy to plug the other hardware units into the Digitakt one at a time, you have everything you need already. The Digitakt is a great audio interface.

If not, you could pick up a simple analog mixer, like the Mackie 1202 VLZ4 (or whatever — I just picked that because I have one and like it a lot). Then you can easily send any of the connected boxes to the Digitakt for sampling, and also use the Digitakt as an audio interface for the computer and Logic.