So, what do you do?

Be interesting to see what fields people are working in for their day jobs!

How many here work in the music industry in some capacity?

Who’s studying & what subjects?

Who’s daytime activities are completely unrelated to music?

You never know, that personal trainer you’ve been looking for might be here & in return you might be able master their album!!

To get the ball rolling, I work as a FOH & Monitor engineer & have done for a number years.
Done some huge acts & some tiddlers!
Based in the UK, work Worldwide.
When it’s good, it’s bloody great, when its bad, it’s a nightmare :slight_smile:

7 Likes

I’ve seen similar threads on other forums, and it looks like 80% is working in the IT. Me included. Building webshops, guiding scrum-based teams, that kind of stuff. Would love to trade it for a music related job some day :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Special ed teacher. Also do the occasional illustration/web-design job. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I’m about to start my first year of teaching, 5th grade social studies. Finished my master’s in elementary education this past winter and also had my first baby this last March. Before I got into my teaching program I worked for apple doing techsupport for a few years, and while I love computers, i hate sitting in front of one all day long for “work.”

Also, i’m in austin, tx if anyone’s up for a jam B-)

Ou, and not to hijack the thread… Those with kids + fulltime job, how do you find time for your hobbies? I feel like I need to put video games off to the side for a bit… So many hobbies, so little time.

@daisuk woot for education! Tips for first year teacher?

3 Likes

sw developer

@zfigz - time? yeah, that is why it is taking me so long to learn the octa, and why I don’t have a profile picture yet :slight_smile:

1 Like

Full-time mastering and mixdown engineer here, some time I sell my own music and play live for cash too. :slight_smile:

6 Likes