Sampling in Machinedrum

I am pretty new to Machinedrum and the sampling part is so frustrating.
I’ve look through the forum and still can’t figure it out. If I can’t work this out, I might have to replace the machine or buy a sampler which I can’t for the moment, so pls help!…

So far
-I’ve managed to capture a sound (somehow I can’t record sound from my mic.?)
-went into Sample Manager and found my 315K sample at the bottom where it said R1
-copied it and went up the menu, pasted on the empty spot.
-I am not sure if I am right because it wouldn’t play back. Just keep saying waiting.

Now what I want to do is
-How can I use the sample when I build my pattern?
-I make pattern usually from loading a kit and I play around with it and save.
-Do I have to build my own kit? if so, how?

Also
-It said I’ve used 64% already when I only recorded 2 samples. What do I do if it gets full?

Thanks in advance!

yep, here it’s hard to find basic operation info.

I assume you have read that specific section in the manual - could be confusing at first, I admit.

Have a look at Elektrons youtube channel you’ll find a nice overview of the MD.

Getting deeper I recommend Cenk’s workflow vids: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=inZrYjKFsyc
YT is the perfect helper for early beginners…

Your mic won’t work on a line input, its signal is to weak to drive this input.The easiest and cheapest way is a tiny mixer with basic routing capabilities, where you can use an aux out to drive the MD’s input.

It’s a good way to learn the maschine from its presets. You can easily copy and paste them (kits, patterns) and assign your own names. Your sample must be assigned to a RAM/ROM maschine to play it back.

Your RAM behaves like every RAM on a PC - when it’s filled it is filled. :slight_smile:

Thanks for the tip and the link. I bought MD especially for the sample capability, so I really wonder about this.