Samples vs Cycles?

Not sure if I am the first person to make this thread (I checked and I couldn’t find one) but I am just getting started out with hardware/synths I am torn between the two. Which one would you recommend to someone, especially considering this would be their main piece of gear?

Currently I have been messing around with Volcas and have bought and sold a few most them (coincidentally my favorites were the Sample and FM). I am more interested in the more experimental side of things (Autechre, Tim Hecker, OPN, Forest Management for some examples if that helps).

When you were messing around before, did you prefer using samplers or synthesizers?

2 Likes

Model:Cycles is about as close as you can get to achieving an LP5-era Autechre sound in hardware without buying a Nord or other more expensive gear, imo.

On the other hand, the Samples is great because, well, it uses samples, and you can get it to sound like anything. It really depends on whether you want a sample-based or synthesis-based sound.

4 Likes

Slightly preferred the sampler but I think that was in large part in that it was more versatile (it could could do percussion/chords/basslines/sample mangling) as opposed to just chords/leads. But I am guessing the Cycles is a lot more versatile than the Volca FM. I guess one of the big things for me is which would get me more mileage in terms of odd textures/sounds Sample Mangling or FM synthesis? FM Synthesis takes more time to learn but Sample Mangling also requires me to have other gear to sample in the first place.

Haha I was pretty sold on the sample until I heard the Cycles and LP5 was the first thing that came to mind.

2 Likes

There’s not a lot of mangling that can be done on the M:S compared to say, the Octatrack, but you can still get away with a lot if your source samples are good.