Resources for building a sequencer from scratch?

I have lots of experience writing code but zero experience building hardware. I’m reading intro books about electricity now and browsing adafruit.com to see what’s available, but really could use some suggestions from the elektron brain trust. I’m envisioning a device with a handful of knobs and buttons and a display screen with a raspberry pi or similar device running code internally.

2 Likes

I’m interested in something like this as well. Traditional PWM pots for knobs and using GPIO is fairly straightforward but writing the software will be interesting. I’m currently exploring writing some code in Go on my normal machines and cross compiling to the raspberry pi. It’s a silly idea but I want to make MIDI out of application logs…

But making a solid unit would be quite interesting!

Would you be doing MIDI over USB or actual MIDI ports?

1 Like

I’d recommend getting started with MicroPython/CircuitPython if you want to play around with microcontrollers and have some experience writing code. Adafruit offers a good selection of boards as well as great tutorials to get you going.

2 Likes

If you are set on the raspberry pi for the brain I recommend a GPIO breakout cable that attaches to a breadboard. Much easier to expand to ESP32/Arduino interfaces and setting up buttons for first prototypes!

1 Like

You probably will want to go down the route of running code on a microcontroller rather than a computer like a raspberry pi.

Running code “on the metal” will allow you to have precise timing and almost no latency which is important for audio applications where these things are a top priority.

MIDIBox Seq V4 is a great place for you to learn about the hardware side. It’s very simple when compared to the code side.