Renoise a little like the Digitakt!

Maybe it’s just me, but I do feel some similarity to the Renoise sequencer and the Digitakt, proud owner of both, the keyboard clicking in Renoise and the buttons of the Digitakt, somewhat similar! Plus both very smart and powerful sequencers.

Anyway, here’s something I did using Renoise and Reaktor yesterday.

6 Likes

Yep, Elektron gear and trackers are very similar. From what I remember, a few of the guys there have experience with chiptune/demoscene so it’s probably no coincidence!

4 Likes

Yeah Word… So I’ve heard about the history in the demoscene as well. Cause just like the Digitakt, Renoise also has “parameter lock” kinda stuff, for example here, I used probability % on the drums and retrigger steps and what not. Looking forward to integrate my Digitakt with Renoise. And if you haven’t tried Renoise, give it a shot!

1 Like

Yep, I’ve been using Renoise for around 7 years, and trackers in general for over 20 years :smiley:

7 Likes

Having experience in Renoise helped me make sense of the OT. I haven’t touched Renoise in ages and when I use a daw I use Live but if I were to go back to producing on computer I would go back to it.

1 Like

Are you sampling Reaktor into Renoise or is this purely MIDI sequencing?

Wow! That’s a long time bro! My first getting into tracker for real was 1996, after fiddling with some Atari ST trackers my brother lend me his Atari Falcon, it could sample in 16bit, the tracker was called -Digital Tracker- I think… after that I went MPC and all that but now I’m back to trackers again… and the Digitakt. Where can I listen to your Renoise music!? Would love to.

Purely midi sequencing, but yes, you could sample the parts as well. Renoise has a descent sampler and you can convert midi into audio (render to sample) and chop it up and mess around as much as you wish.

Here are a couple of my Renoise-heavy albums:

Titan (cosmic synth prog)