Recording tracks separately without a DAW

Is there any way to record each track separately without a DAW?
Maybe with something like the 1010music BlueBox?

1 Like

Whatā€™s the reason for avoiding a DAW? That might help with recommendations.

2 Likes

Itā€™s a very personal reason. I am a software developer and do not want to do computer stuff in my spare time :wink: I love to explore these hardware music devices more then starring at a big screen and fiddling with this mega software like Ableton too much etc.

1 Like

bluebox if you have need to mix multiple instruments, zoom f3 if you only need one stereo input
bluebox is gonna be a bit closer to pc vibe, f3 is just plug in and record.

if you want more choices, check out field recorder topic. any field recorder with inputs will do pretty much.

EDIT: i just realised you want to record tracks separately, my bad. then yes, bluebox is good for that. F3 wont do, but other field recorders can multitrack.

Without a DAW you canā€™t use Overbridge to multitrack record, so the only way that I can think of for you to record each track separately is one at a time into something like Bluebox or another field recorder that can do multitrack.

At this point iā€™d be asking myself if jumping through those hoops is really worth the extra hassle compared to being able to easily and readily do this in a DAWā€¦

5 Likes

Yes , recording each track separately one by one would really be a hassle. Donā€™t want to do that.

Is there a recorder that supports recording via USB with Overbridge in between?
(But maybe, i do not completely understand the Overbridge technology)

cant install overbridge on a recorder, so pc will still be in the way.
class complient device will only see full mixdown, same as headphone out.

why do you want to record tracks separately? wouldnt that imply that you going to edit them on pc.

Itā€™s called a computer.

2 Likes