Question about the Machine Drum

So there is one very specific feature that I want in a drum machine, and I think that the machine drum can do it but I am not sure, so I wonder if the experts here could weigh in. Basically what I want is for one drum track to have an envelope controlling some aspect of another drum track. For instance have a hi hat whose decay shortens when the kick drum hits. I know that the LFOs are freely assignable. Can you set up the LFO like an envelope, triggered by one track, and effecting another track? Looking at the manual it seems like there is no one shot LFO mode like on the other elektron devices. What do y’all think?

I’m new to the MD too and don’t have it in front of me… but if it doesn’t do one-shot mode, can’t you just have the LFO retriggered with note on, with a downward ramp shape that you then assign to another track? Seems that could work.

3 Likes

That is also pretty easy to do with plain ol’ parameter-locking.

1 Like

Yes, but I want my drums to react to each other dynamically, with the ability for me to perform new drum rythms off the cuff, and still maintain all the drums interacting with each other. I love what you can do with elektrons but I don’t love always having to think three steps ahead with plocking and what steps to plock, etc, when I just want to duck a track with the bass drum.

2 Likes

I would try the first suggestion then :slight_smile:

1 Like

I don’t actually have one, but am considering it, and this functionality is a pretty significant reason why.

i think the simple answer is yes you can do that, i will often used unused channels lfo’s to mess with more important sounds for instance
-the trigger mode in the lfo is a one shot for certain envelopes, hold is s/h and works well with random lfo to add humanizing/random automations

3 Likes