Question about sequencing other gear

Hi all,

I have a question about sequencing other gear with my Octatrack, specifically my new TR-8S, a Bass Station II and a Volca FM. I’m relatively new to this, and wondering if this is at all possible? I want to avoid using software as much as possible.

I’ve read that in order to sequence multiple machines with the OT, you’ll need something like a Thru-box. Is a thru-box the same as a midi-interface, like this one?

Would it work in the way that I put a midi cable from the MIDI Thru channel of the OT to the interface, and on the other side 3 midi cables that go to the external synths? And how would this appear on the OT’s interface? Can I set 3 thru tracks up and assign them to the external synths?

I understand that there have been topics about this question, but I’m relatively new to this and the OT is a particular machine (although I haven’t found it as difficult to figure out as some people claim. it’s just not always straightforward) plus I couldn’t find topics about the same setup. If someone could help me out that would be great!

MIDI works on 16 channels and when devices are connected to the OT’s midi out port you configure them to each respond to a certain channel, and set a corresponding channel on an OT’s midi track to control it.

The out port of the OT is used for this. If two of your devices have midi thru, you can make a midi chain from:
OT out–>device1 in, device1 thru–>device2 in, device2 thru–>device3 in…

This would allow you to control the devices without an extra box. I didn’t look at the details of that box in particular but it seems more than just a through and also has usb midi, not sure if that’s something you need. There are more simple thrus available with say one midi din in and 4 din outs… You would only need this if you noticed any lag or out of syncness with a midi chain setup…