Pitch & Stretch without resampling?

hey,

is it not possible to pitch & stretch a sample in the same machine?!
always resampling inbetween neccessary?

sorry if i miss something obvious, i am new to the digitakt!

thanks, ulf

The werp and repitch machines might be what you are looking for

thx - but still i have to resample and then pitch or stretch afterwards in the other machine, right?

1 Like

Misunderstood, yes you will need to resample

no worries. but too bad it’s seperated like that…

Try Slice machine for stretch (lfo on slices), then pitch.
Octatrack has timestretch and independent pitch. Anyway, best results are when the pitch is close to corresponding tempo (close to the pitch and tempo you’d get like on a vinyl).

M:S can pitch (repitch) and warp(werp) any loop/sample to any BPM or Key you want just using the sequencer and 1 LFO. This was first discovered in the Digitakt, then ported to the M:S by some Eleknauts in this same forum.

Pretty sure you can do the same on Digitakt using the Single Shoot machine (which is the only “machine” on the M:S… but it’s ok since it can do everything anyway).

thx. unfortunately, it seems to be not possible without resampling in between, because those features aren’t placed in the same machine. kinda workflow bummer.

You can skip the resampling stage, but it may require musically trained ear (after you get the idea, it’s not hard at all).

1. Create a REPITCH track with desired loop
  2. Tweak parameters to your taste (start/length/bars)
  3. Create ONESHOT track with the same loop
  4. Adjust the start point if needed
  5. Push 2 pads simultaniously and tune the pitch on oneshot machine by ear. Like you tune the guitar or oscillators on your analogue synth. The two samples (one on repitch and the second on oneshot machine) will start vibrating when you are near and phasing (sometimes each other out) when you are at the finish line.