Overbridge /vst/ Reason

Hi All, newbie here so please forgive potentially co
vering old ground. Having regrettably sold loads of nice hardware years ago, I’m not entirely happy with my software setup. I had narrowed my shortlist down to Peak, Prophet Rev2 and Analog 4mk2. I’m going with A4mk2. If for nothing else, I like the sound of it above the others. Couple of questions…

1. Will I be able to open overbridge as a plug in within Reason 10?
  2. Will A4 also act as either/both usb audio and midi interface for Reason 10 outputs.
    Any thoughts appreciated.

Good questions!
AFAIK the A4mkII doesnt work with overbridge yet. IN theory when OB is out it will open in Reason. my A4(original) does. I’ve also hooked it up as the audio interface, but keep in mind that your in/out hardware has to be the same piece in reason.

Which I guess means the audio would come out of your A4, too? I prefer Live or Logic for interfacing with overbridge, because I can select my main audio interface/monitors for output, and the A4 for input.

Thanks for the response. To expand a little, this is almost exclusively for live use. I’ve previously used logic as host for kontakt and reason (rewire) but now reason supports plugins and my past experience is that reason is super stable, I see no need to continue with logic. Also, not really needing the audio in with reason, it seems like a neat solution to mix the reason output with the A4 and do away with any other audio /midi interface… Assuming A4does both audio out from reason and midi in to reason simultaneously…

Yes. I’ve done this with the OB beta. It works.

This, too, works as you’d expect.

3 Likes

Many thanks for the positive replies!

I believe the new OB does not yet work as a midi interface, but it’s intended to?

Has this changed?