One bar per slice?

So I recently got the Octatrack again a couple of years later, with some more Elektron experience in the luggage :slight_smile:

I’m still learning, and trying to come up with the best workflow for me. I’d essentially like to record external drums and synths loops, mix, mangle and arrange to tracks.

Example structure of loops:
Kick A (4 bars), Kick B (4bars)
Lead A (8 bars), lead B (8 bars), Lead C (8bars), Lead D (8bars)

What would be the quickest/smoothest way record and arrange a track?

I thought about for example recording 32 bars of the lead synth, with all of the versions, and then slicing that to 32 grid, and then building out patterns that simply trigger different start points based on slice number.
Anyone have experience of using longer slices like this?

Would it be faster/better to just recording each loop as a separate audio file?

With QREC you can record up to 1024 steps, corresponding to 64 bars.

I used that, but I don’t have particular advice concerning song arrangements.

2 Likes

…sure u can use longer slices, that already contain a complete phrase of something…

but it only makes sense, when that particular slice actually really has something interchanging to tell…in other words, there’s no realworld scenario where it be of any advantage to proceed that way if it’S just a kik that has to play a four to the floor pattern…in that case, ur way better off with a slice that contains that one kik sound, placed on the trigs accordingly…

overall, u really take most advantage out of the ot, if u separate strictly in individual phrases that u need for particular songs AND also a pre curated collection of commonly used single shot like samples preorganized in samplechains, where each slice contains one particular singular single shot each of it’s own…