Octatrack MKI - a good decision for a hardware beginner?

Hello from Egypt.

I want to start making electronic music and I really like Elektron as a company. The only available device on the market here are new Octatrack MK1s and I would like to gauge the community to see if this is a good purchase in 2022.

I am a hardware beginner but have used software to make an EP in the past (it has been many years).

Many thanks,
mrT

1 Like

It depends on your needs and experience. The Octatrack is very powerful, but also requires some learning and understanding the architecture of it is necessary to get the most out of it.

From my point of view, if you need a sampler with lots of possibilities and you like learning and fiddling with tech, the OT should be a good choice for you. You can also use the MIDI sequencer to control other gear as you expand your setup.

It was my second box. like losing your virginity to a bipolar supermodel. Absolute headache and will ruin everything else for you. Do it

24 Likes

Sage advice, sums it up perfectly.

3 Likes

The Octatrack (MK2, not MK1) was my first foray into Elektron gear, and it did make me go on to purchase more from them. It can do lot of different things, and initially I just used it as a standalone device for playing samples and creating songs on it, which is a lot of fun.

But for me, it starts to truly shine when you pair it with external gear, and resample stuff on the fly and re-arrange things.

As a first Elektron device, I don’t think I made a mistake. But probably I’d go with the Syntakt if I was looking at things today, if analog instruments interests you.

In the end, I think its very dependent on what you want to be able to do. Mangle and play samples/connected instruments? Then Octatrack is excellent!

New MKIs? I thought MKIIs replaced them a long time ago…

But as far as your question goes, only you know if a purchase is good for you.