OCTATRACK: ERROR Invalid Filetype

Hello,

I’m new to Octatrack but have been dedicating it lots of time to learn how to use it properly. I have and issue when saving samples and loading them to tracks. So here’s my case: I sample a track from midi track 1 into track 2 with R2 assign to it. I hit T2+Bank and I see the recording. I can hear and see it’s perfect. I go to File, Save and Assign, Assign to Flex, and it say Assigned to Flex X, as usual. But then when I want to load the sample into one of the tracks, it says ERROR: INVALID FILETYPE R2.trackname.

Why?

I’ve done this several times before (sampling both midi and my plugged guitar) and it was working well. Now it’s happening this way and I can’t find an answer.

I would be so thankful for any help. This is making me crazy XD

Thanks!

Having same issue but with a common file that I use to play a lot in static machine. It shows the massage: ERROR Couldn’t load STATIC[90] with ‘…/AUDIO/filename.wav’ (‘INVALID FILETYPE’)

Corrupted file maybe. Do you have another copy of that file?

I’ve just reload the sample in to the slot and start to work again… hope it keeps playing

1 Like

I was having issues like this a couple years ago, not much with audio but with bank files being corrupted and also even more strangely sometimes I would save a project and reopen it and it wouldn’t give me an error but some of the parameters would be changed in really weird ways (record parameters for track 1 moving to track 5 was a common one, as was the record source being changed from whatever it had been before saving and reloading to SRC3 - Track 7, once or twice track trigs would move from one pattern to another and IIRC I had one instance where a track that had been center panned ended up hard panned to one side; once this happened to a project it would persist - it was an actual problem with the files on the card).