Octatrack: Audio Levels/Establish Baseline/Stage

So, I am new to the Octatrack.

I had really thought I had my system pretty good with synths, hardware, iOS devices, and MacBook.

But, I had to go and get an Octatrack and destroy years of establishing a norm and system…:crazy_face:

So, what are some recommendations or systems or methods for getting audio coming from various sources and then passing on to mixers and other interfaces?

In particular, I guess, the mixer screen vs per track controls in figuring it all out.

Do you work big picture on Octatrack with a minimum/max levels in mind and then tweak the sound per track, do you do this prior to the audio leaving to go onto a mixer/interface?

What are some effects to maybe avoid when doing this that may complicate the signal quality most?

I got the new Octatrack several weeks ago and have been mainly working it as a thru machine, record a couple loops, and then some other minor things. But, I was doing in a way that I listened through the Octatrck headphone. I also didn’t have many of the signals going anywhere such as a DAW or PA system where they could be heard/recorded.

This is my first attempt at now going outside the box and taking the things in it and through it onto other places. I realize this is marathon not a sprint, so I am not hoping for a miracle.

I hope this was somewhat clear on where I am at and what I am asking.

For instance, I have Digitakt, DIgitone, ModelSamples, Aruturia synth, Monostation, etc that I am running through the Octatrack and/or Mixer and then to the interface to its final destination.

Setting the levels and approaches using the Octa mixer and levels is the information I am hoping to get insight on.

Thank you.

This is a huge topic. Search octatrack gain staging on here and you will find some tips.